Our Sponsor Club - Rotary Club of Brisbane

There were only 6 Rotary Clubs in Queensland and 24 other clubs spread around Australia when the Rotary Club of Ipswich was founded. It was born in the midst of the Depression years in Australia and despite the difficulties of the early formative years the display of courage, faith and determination in this new organisation of high ethical motives and challenging ideals of personal involvement in service to the community by the charter members ensured its progress - and it prospered.


Charter President

James Gracie Bishop. 1930-31, 1931-32

The first president of the Rotary Club of Ipswich, Mr James Gracie Bishop, was a prominent business man and interested in many aspects of community activities.

Principal of the Men's Clothing Manufacturing firm, Bishop and Woodward Pty. Ltd., he served on numerous public organisations over a long period of time.

An Alderman of the city he was also chairman of the Ipswich Hospital Board for some years in the old voluntary days; President of the Chamber of Commerce; a director of the Queensland Woollen Manufacturing Ltd., a committee member of the Technical College Board and a Past President of the Ipswich Bowling Club; and many other local activities. The fact-that he served as president or chairman of most organisations with which he was connected was a tribute to his leadership and enthusiasm.

He found much satisfaction in his voluntary work to the community and to the city and the expression of his ideal of community service was crystallised in Rotary - the new club which he so firmly and enthusiastically founded and which owes so much to this exemplary pioneer and missionary minded gentleman of that era. Jim Bishop personalised the motto

"Service Above Self."

Charter Members
Bishop     James Gracie
Bottomley     James Parker
Cameron     John Alexander
Casey     John
Chalmers     Robert James
Colthup     James Barnett
Dowling     Frank Vincent
Finimore     James Thomas
Hancock     Sydney Harold
Johnson     William John
Kerr     Richard Alexander
Meacham     Fredrick James
Patterson     Mervyn Stuart
Pommer     Harry
Preddley     Alfred Edward
Riley     James George
Scott     Eric McLaren
Walker     James Ernest
Walker     John Fulton
Whitehead     Arthur Henry